Soul: Striving for Simplicity

18 Jul

It is a blessing to have. To have shelter. To have the things needed for day-to-day life. To have the stuff that makes up life.  Sometimes I envy the carefree and simple life of creatures.

Carry_out_at__Chipotle_

They don’t have anything to carry around. They come and go as they please, picking up what they need as they go on. No stuff  to worry about. Just the usual grind of survival and fending off bully grackles.

I am carrying on with my task of organizing classroom materials. It is a little disconcerting today because when I look out into my living room, there is very little walking space. Just a small path between the boxes that create a maze from the walls to the middle of the room, or at least close. I keep telling myself there is reason to the piles. I have even finished the science materials. I am half way through the math. There is just so much.

Stuff Stuff2

To add insult to injury, throughout the school year not only have I allowed my classroom materials to get into disarray, but my home has suffered the same if not a worse fate. I just spent half a day looking for a medical report I knew I had but couldn’t find. In the end I prevailed, and now as a result I have “purged” the stacks of papers on my desk and moved them into the file cabinet. Something that has been needed for quite some time.

I think that is the key as I read pins on Pinterest and books, blogs and articles on organization. We need to purge. Not only physically purge, but internally as well. As we discard the old remnants of previous projects, bills, even lives in a sense, we remove them from our minds as well. I can not help but think of the “scandisk” function it seemed to be necessary to perform on computers from time to time to optimize performance. I am realizing how it translates into stuff both internal and external.

So I will carry on with the purging and reconfiguring in the hopes that soon I will have an efficient, attractive, accessible end product that will make all this drudgery worth it. I hope that this will be the year I am organized and can keep it that way and next year will be the year to play and enjoy life!

Like the little bird, adventures await, even if it means fending off a grackle or too.

by  Dinkum

by Dinkum

Leave a Reply

